Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

View Privacy Policy

Blumenthal, Murphy Vote for Trump’s New FBI Director

August 2, 2017 By Staff
Blumenthal, Murphy Vote for Trump’s New FBI Director

The senators were on the winning side of a 92-5 vote for Christopher Wray, President Trump's pick to lead the FBI after Trump fired James Comey.

Sens. Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.) and Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) voted for Christopher Wray, President Trump’s pick to lead the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), on Tuesday night.

Wray was confirmed by an overwhelming 92-5 vote in the U.S. Senate.

Even the five votes against Wray were unprecedented, as CNN pointed out they were five of the six Senate votes ever cast against an FBI nominee. One senator voted against James Comey’s confirmation in 2013.

Blumenthal released a statement and a series of tweets about his decision after the vote, saying he believes Wray will “uphold integrity of the Bureau & independence of Russia investigation.”

Murphy was silent about the vote on Twitter and on his website as of Wednesday morning.