Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

View Privacy Policy

Surprise! All 5 CT House Members Vote Against Tax Cuts and Jobs Act

November 17, 2017 By Staff
Surprise! All 5 CT House Members Vote Against Tax Cuts and Jobs Act

Larson, Courtney, DeLauro, Himes, and Esty all voted against the House bill, which Speaker Paul Ryan says will cut the average family's taxes by $1,182.

Reps. John Larson (D-Conn.), Joe Courtney (D-Conn.), Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.), Jim Himes (D-Conn.), and Elizabeth Esty (D-Conn.) all voted against the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act in the U.S. House of Representatives on Thursday.

The bill passed, 227-205, and Connecticut’s delegation featured five of the 192 Democrats voting against the bill.

Speaker Paul Ryan has said the “typical family of 4 at that income level will see a tax cut of $1,182 next year.”

He also promises the bill will simplify the tax-filing process, enabling most taxpayers to file their taxes on a postcard.

Connecticut’s Democratic delegation felt differently.

  • Larson complained about the elimination of the state and local tax (SALT) deduction (which subsidizes high-tax states like Connecticut)
  • Courtney focused on the elimination of an assortment of deductions (elimination of those deductions simplifies the tax code)
  • DeLauro said “Democrats are fighting for an economy that works for all, not just the very richest”
  • Himes, in a Facebook post, suggested he and other moderate Democrats support tax reform, but called this and the Senate tax bill “odious” (not a single Democrat voted for the House bill)
  • Esty said “our tax code is too complicated,” but called the bill wrong for Connecticut (because it eliminates deductions that actually simplify the code)

The five Democrats join Gov. Dan Malloy (D-Conn.), Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), and Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) in opposing the tax cut bill.